Colleges of Arts

The colleges of Arts in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation are higher education bodies that organise courses combining theory, practice, teaching and research in the following artistic fields:

  • Arts and art sciences
  • Plastic, visual and spatial arts
  • Music
  • Theatre and drama
  • Performing arts and broadcasting and communication techniques
  • Dance

There are 16 colleges of Arts subsidised and recognised by the Wallonia-Brussels Federation:


Organisation of studies

Colleges of Arts organise higher education in one cycle or two cycles.

Courses in a single cycle, the so-called "professionally-oriented" courses lead to the award of a Bachelor's degree. They correspond to 180 credits that can be earned in three years of study. These studies usually lead to the exercise of a specific profession immediately upon completion of studies.

Teaching organised in two cycles leads to the award of the following degrees:

  • Bachelor, after the first cycle. This course corresponds to 180 credits that can be earned in three years of study. This first cycle offers general scientific training and specific training to ensure the "transition" to the second cycle.
  • Master, after the second cycle. This course corresponds to 60 or 120 credits that can be earned in one or two years of study. The Master’s studies include special instruction in the chosen discipline.
Important Note: To be admitted to one of the arts colleges, it is not only necessary to fulfil the general conditions of access to higher education but also to pass the entrance test organised by the institution, designed to gauge the artistic skills of the candidates.