Higher education in Wallonia-Brussels

Higher education in Wallonia-Brussels is an integral part of the European Higher Education Area.

* For more information about the European Higher Education Area and about the « Bologna Process » that paved the way for its creation, please consult the Web site www.ehea.info.

This is the outcome of the commitment of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation to ensure the quality of higher education, the promotion of student mobility, and the internationalisation and democratisation of its academic system.

This also means that a degree earned in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation will be easily recognised in the 47 countries of the European Area of Higher Education and world-wide.

The landscape and organisation of higher education in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation is defined in the Decree of 7 November 2013.

To view the Landscape Decree of 7 November 2013, click here (available only in French).

Full-time higher education is provided by three types of institutions: 6 universities, 19 university colleges and 16 arts colleges.

It is worth noting that social advancement educational institutions also organise higher education programmes, which are specifically earmarked at an adult population that is either in work, looking for work or returning to education.


The universities, university colleges and arts colleges all award Bachelor, Master and Doctorate degrees corresponding to three cycles of studies and a specified number of ECTS credits.

All higher education bodies are grouped within the Academy for Research and Higher Education (ARES). This Academy is responsible for ensuring the exercise of the various missions of higher education, research and service to the community and for encouraging cooperation between institutions. It consists of three thematic chambers for the subjects specific to each form of teaching and of several standing committees.

For more information on the Academy for Research and Higher Education, please visit the website www.ares-ac.be

To encourage and support cooperation between institutions in a defined geographical area, the bodies offering higher education are grouped into 5 « academic sectors »: the Liege-Luxembourg Sector, the Namur Sector, the Brussels Sector, the Louvain Sector and the Hainaut Sector.

The great wealth of higher education in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation lies in the diversity of the offer. Students have the opportunity of following courses organised in a single cycle (meeting specific vocational goals and leading to the award of a Bachelor's degree) or organised in two cycles (combining both general and specialised training, based on research results) in 26 fields grouped into four areas:

Human and Social Sciences

  1. Philosophy
  2. Theology
  3. Languages, Literature and Translation Studies
  4. History, Art History and Archaeology
  5. Information and communication
  6. Politics and Sociology
  7. Law
  8. Criminology
  9. Economics and Management
  10. Psychology and Education


  1. Medicine
  2. Veterinary Science
  3. Dentistry
  4. Biomedical Sciences and Pharmacy
  5. Public Health
  6. Motor skills

Science and Technology

  1. Sciences
  2. Agriculture and Biological Engineering
  3. Engineering and Technology
  4. Building and planning


  1. Art and Art Sciences
  2. Fine, visual and spatial arts
  3. Music
  4. Theatre and dramatic arts
  5. Performing arts and broadcasting and communication technologies
  6. Dance