The Francophone universities of Belgium are spread throughout the Wallonia-Brussels Federation.

They offer high-quality training in the three major areas of knowledge: science and technology, the humanities and health sciences.

Beyond in-depth knowledge of the subject chosen, university study equips students with a solid general education and encourages a scientific approach, placing emphasis on the development of both basic and applied research. The universities of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation, Belgium's French-speaking regions, are renowned for the high quality of their research programmes. All of them enjoy an excellent reputation within our country and beyond our borders.

University studies comprise:

  • two cycles leading to a Bachelor’s degree (also known as “Transitional Bachelor”) (1st cycle - 180 credits) and then a Master’s degree (2nd cycle - 60 to 180 credits);
  • a 3rd cycle, intended to develop new, cutting-edge knowledge of one or several fields of research, leads to a Doctorate.


The universities offer courses in the following areas:

Human and Social sciences

  • Philosophy
  • Theology
  • Languages, Literature and Translation Studies
  • History, Art History and Archaeology
  • Information and communication
  • Politics and Sociology
  • Law
  • Criminology
  • Economics and Management
  • Psychology and Education


  • Medicine
  • Veterinary Science
  • Dentistry
  • Biomedical Sciences and Pharmacy
  • Public Health
  • Motor skills

Science and technology

  • Science
  • Agriculture and Biological Engineering
  • Engineering and Technology
  • Building and planning


  • Performing arts and broadcasting and communication technologies

The six universities in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation are recognised and subsidised by the Federation: